Course Syllabus

This Course website is for both Fall 2018 and Spring 2019.  

Printable Schedule

Harvard Public Economics Seminar Econ 3107

Monday 4:30-5:45 Littauer M-16  Unless otherwise noted

Spring Term 2019

Date

 Speaker(s)

Title

Monday, January 28

No Meeting

 

Monday, February 4

No Meeting

 

Wednesday, February 13

Joint with Labor

Littauer Hansen-Mason Room

 Crystal Yang

(Harvard Law School)

"Fear and the Safety Net: Evidence from Secure Communities"

Wednesday, February 20

Joint with Labor

Littauer Hansen-Mason Room

Gianluca Violante

(Princeton University)

"Optimal Progressivity with Age-Dependent Taxation" (with J. Heathcote and K. Storesletten)

Wednesday, February 27

Joint with Labor

Littauer Hansen-Mason Room

Sara Heller

(University of Michigan)

"Rethinking the Benefits of Youth Employment Programs: The Heterogeneous Effects of Summer Jobs"

Monday, March 4

No Meeting

 

Monday, March 11

Joint with Macro

Littauer Hansen-Mason Room

Note Time: 3:00-4:15

Alan Auerbach

(University of California, Berkeley)

Local Fiscal Multipliers and Fiscal Spillovers in the United States” (with Yuriy Gorodnichenko and  Daniel Murphy)

Monday, March 20

No Meeting

 

Monday, March 25

Joint with Labor

Littauer M-16

Magne Mogstad

(University of Chicago)

"How Much Should We Trust Estimates of Firm Effects and Worker Sorting?" (with S.Bonhomme, K. Holzheu, B. Setzler, T. Lamadon, and E. Manresa)

Wednesday, April 10

Joint with Labor and Behavioral

Littauer Hansen-Mason Room

Arin Dube

(University of Massachusetts, Amherst)

“Monopsony and Employer Mis-optimization Explain Why Wages Bunch at Round Numbers”

Wednesday, April 17

Joint with Labor

Littauer Hansen-Mason Room

Matt Notowidigdo (Northwestern University)

"Plan Value-Added: Evaluating Medicaid Managed Care Plans Using Random Assignment" (co-authored with Craig Garthwaite)

Wednesday, April 24

Joint with Labor and Behavioral

Littauer Hansen-Mason Room

Johannes Spinnewijn

(London School of Economics)

"Job Seekers’ Perceptions and Employment Prospects: Heterogeneity, Duration Dependence and Bias

Wednesday, May 1

Joint with Labor

Littauer Hansen-Mason Room

Philip Oreopoulos

(University of Toronto)

 

Course Summary:

Date Details